The Power of Music


Music is influential in our senses, imaginations and learning techniques. This powerful tool is directly linked to the brain waves. It can heal anxiety, depression, insomnia, and short attention spans. It brings alertness, attentiveness, and self-awareness. But it can be used for destructive purposes as well. When we saturate our minds and spirits with lyrics about making love in clubs, it warps our perspective on love. How can we expect to make solid choices when we are dousing our minds with selfish lust-filled stories that dim our spirit’s shimmering light?

I caught myself strumming my pencil to a song…

“You can have whatever you like. If you want it you can get it my dear, 5 million-dollar home… I want your body, I need your body. As long as you got me you won’t need nobody. You want it, I got it. Baby, you can have whatever you like.”

Other than the grammatical errors, the message is plain and clear: I’ll give you money and material items to make you happy and you give me your body in return. I liked the beat of this song, but it wasn’t until I caught a word or two that I started hearing the lyrics for the first time. I was mortified that I could be so pleasantly moved by such a song. The Bible says, “Be on guard. Stand true to what you believe. Be courageous. Be strong.” (1 Cor. 16:13). We need to be cautious of what we allow to filter into our systems. Those songs are seeping into our hearts. How can we listen to the words and not be influenced by them?

We are mistaken if we think these outlets of entertainment have zero effect on our interaction with members of the opposite gender. The more we feed on this monstrous, decaying cadaver the more we will see through the eyes of death. Likewise, when we feed from the grazing territories of God’s hope and truth, life abounds.  I’ve concluded it isn’t even worth it to intoxicate my spirit with the catchy tunes.

A healthy lifestyle takes some hard steps of self-control, 20/20 vision for people’s worth and a deeper respect for our spirits. We have to make some tough choices. There is junk food in each of us that must be eliminated. Take time to search out these frivolous time-consumers. It is almost unrealistic to go cold turkey on entertainment and all forms of media, but I highly respect anyone who aims for it. Some of us shifted things around a bit slower, we realized all this gorging on immoral media could create a throng of obese fakes. How can we expect God to speak to us if we are invading His temple with junk? We have to let go of this mindset: It’s all about me. My life, my choices, my rights. That life is short-lived, wasted, and meaningless in the end. We have an incredible chance to be a part of history: HIS-story. Our part can and will impact people. I would rather have the role of an extra in the greatest story ever told than the selfish star in a dull, rundown, typical story that lasts but a pencil prick compared to the space of time. Why waste away, wishing for excitement like the character of a favorite movie? Life is happening here and now. The adventure is right in front of us, beckoning us to join. We must lose some of the excess weight called entertainment. We need to run toward the finish line and claim the grand Prize. In Christ alone, my glory shines.

It may feel like a huge sacrifice to give up large quantities of Hollywood entertainment. It may even hurt a bit. But the unfathomable freedom and refreshment is worth it. The pain is a beneficial pain, like exercise. We persevere if we want results. We make right choices daily. It isn’t just a spring cleaning of the soul and then we’re done for the next six months. We can’t just throw out all the bad CDs, movies, magazines, TV shows one day and expect to check off the list of good deeds for the year. It takes daily discipline to keep our minds pure and our hearts fresh. The thoughts and dreams of our hearts will surely come out in our actions and behaviors. Whether some are going cold turkey or giving up one thing at a time, or just thinking of giving up depraved music, it will be out of love for Christ that any of us follow through and take the steps toward freedom. We obey because we love Him. We make wise choices because we want to please Him. He is HOLY, and we are His children. We are to represent Him. The only way we can do that is by living in the aperture of His Spirit. There is a soft and gentle conscience to be gained here. When our conscience is sensitive and sweet, purity will enfold us. And purity in heart is the ultimate goal because, “Blessed are those who are pure in heart for they shall SEE God,” –Matt. 5:8. Ready to catch a glimpse of God?

Music activates multiple regions of the brain which is why it has such a global impact on us. Our emotions, memory, immune systems, stress responses are affected by music. Let us reclaim this powerful outlet for God’s glory. He made everything and saw that it was good. Music, love, and words were created for God’s glory. Next time I listen to my favorite playlist I will do so with the glory of God in mind and a heart willing to give up anything for Him.

“I don’t want to talk about You like You’re not in the room.

I want to look right at You. I want to sing right to You.

…Give me undistracted devotion for only You.”

 –Misty Edwards, Dove’s Eyes

About Mackenzie

Traveling is ingrained in my DNA. I was born in Texas. Raised all over the U.S. I love mission work, the medical field, ingesting copious amounts of knowledge, and honorable relationships. I'm quite passionate about health, purity, sports, and the Bible. So, there's that! View all posts by Mackenzie

5 responses to “The Power of Music

  • a.w. marks

    Whether some are going cold turkey or giving up one thing at a time, or just thinking of giving up depraved music, it will be out of love for Christ that any of us follow through and take the steps toward freedom. We obey because we love Him. We make wise choices because we want to please Him. He is HOLY, and we are His children. We are to represent Him. The only way we can do that is by living in the aperture of His Spirit.

    What is unrealistic in our flesh is entirely attainable in His Spirit. First, if we find that entertainment has a stranglehold upon us, we must first admit that it’s a comfort to us on some level. We wouldn’t engage in it otherwise. What makes the “cold turkey” approach so fruitless is not that we are incapable of freedom, but that we often ignore the areas of our life that are comforted. This is true with any idol: it is not enough to remove the temptation or abstain from the behavior, if it is not done with the expectation to fill our lives with Christ. To remove the idol without drowning ourselves in the purity of His Presence will only lead us back again… more frustrated.

    The illustration I envision is a pot of BAD coffee made with the purest spring water. Should we desire to remove the impurity, we cannot simply filter the black from the coffee again. It requires a stream of fresh water overflowing the pot to gradually lead it back to clarity and health.

    I have personally experienced the futility of “emptying” myself. I’ve tossed the CDs, slimmed down the DVD collection, and fought the battle of lust through grueling decisions to guard my eyes. Inevitably, these dismissals did little for my heart until I was determined to let Christ own it and become a slave to righteousness. On one particular afternoon, a friend called me over to his house to play video games, something we had done hundreds of times before. And while I had never made a grand commitment to abstain from this, I suddenly realized that pursuing Christ had taken away my appetite. It wasn’t even that I had to struggle to say no, because my desires had changed. His Spirit is the only explanation. He makes us new. Our diligence cannot be in abstinence alone, despite its necessity. We must fill our lives with Christ in abundance.

    I’ve come to a place where I expect my conversations to center around my relationship with Him, because I speak of my priorities. Like before, when I take my eyes from Him, it is easy to spend my time comforting my flesh with garbage, and my passion (or lack thereof) reflects this. When we walk in obedience, the things of this world lose their grip, for we long for more of His Kingdom.

    When I seek Jesus, He amazes me with how my desires fall in line with His. I want to spend my time serving Him. I want to build relationships that honor Him. I want to partake in ministry adventures that REQUIRE Him. I want to offer myself to a bride that spurs me towards Him. Nothing on earth has any appeal apart from Him.

    The discipline required is an ever-increasing fixation on Him. He alone is faithful and able to change our hearts.

    • sweetsirensofmudhock

      You have made an incredibly insightful point here: “To remove the idol without drowning ourselves in the purity of His Presence will only lead us back again… more frustrated.” Very good words, my friend. I also adore your BAD coffee analogy. That makes perfect sense.

      Thank you for your wisdom. I love and learn from your comments every time. You are a blessing!

  • a.w. marks

    I’m just hopeful to contribute anything of worth. The truth that you offer here is a wonderful resource for all desiring to live set apart. I anticipate reading what He already has in the works to reveal to you! Continue to leave your heart wide open to His move.

    BTW: I love the whimsy of your new avatar pic; it makes me want to take a morning stroll in an English garden.

  • Iteti

    I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately – how the music I listen to affects my state of being both psychologically and emotionally.
    I reckon it also depends on the individual; on what they focus on about a song – the lyrics or the composition. I’m always looking out for profundity, so I listen to the words ALL THE TIME and I can relate with what you’re saying here.

    The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak. The reference to exercise and eliminating junk food stood out for me. If you do something consistently and long enough, it becomes a habit. Sort of like training.

    Thanks for this 🙂 God timing!

    • sweetsirensofmudhock

      We’re all being trained for something great: a lifetime of amazement and an eternity of indescribable bliss. When I think about it, all the small sacrifices are so worth it. As His children, the more time we spend with Him the more we will resemble Him. I just love that idea. As a child looks more and more like their earthly parent, we can look more like our heavenly Father.

      Thanks for reading. I’m honored by your comment and thrilled to hear how God spoke to you. Bless you, girl!

Leave a Reply

