The Beginning


 True Love Waits.

We’ve all heard it. If we want to be good girls, we follow this principle. If we want to find love, we go through a period of full-time long-suffering, and growth in the area of self-control. We wait; as long as it takes. He’ll come along, no worries! Prince Charming is somewhere down the line. No, we can’t have fun. We must be patient.

Why do these ‘single years’ sound so dreadful? Why do people always ask about our love lives and try to play match-maker when they find that there is a lack? Just once, I wish I could read a purity book that actually made me excited about being single for as long as God has that status for me. I wish I could read about wild stories of a life lived to the fullest without some guy attached to the story as the reward. As a single girl, I don’t want to hear “encouragement” to endure these lonely single years, wait on a perfect guy to land in my path, and then enjoy life to the fullest. Maybe I’ve been reading all these purity books wrong, but I always walk away thinking, “Good for them. Glad they found what they were looking for. Now, am I supposed to wait around for that?” No way! This is life. This is the only life I have to live before eternity. I want to make the most of it, especially now while I’m a single girl with few responsibilities and free range to dream. Please disregard the cynicism you may hear toward relationships and happily ever after marriages. I do think marriage is beautiful and it is going to be an awesome experience for many of us. When I talk about living life-I don’t mean partying like a rock star or stringing as many men along the path as possible. I’m talking about living life outside of romantic relationships. There is a process to walk through before a relationship should go into effect. I hope this blog encourages you to enjoy your single years like you never thought possible. I hope you catch this contagious gleam in your eyes toward life and all the possibilities it holds for you. Let’s ponder what we can do as unattached single girls before that big day happens. Hopefully, you will experience many BIG days outside of “true love” and wedding bliss.

The hardest part of this purity stance is feeling alone in it. 

Society screams “safe sex” and “practice makes perfect” are the standards to live by. A biblical stance would be abstinence. But, “Seek ye first the Kingdom of God and all these things shall be added unto you,” is a hard pill to swallow when the world makes bed-hopping look so fun. Remember when you were a kid and your parents had to scold you from touching the hot stove? It wasn’t because they were hoarding all the stove-slapping fun for themselves. They knew from experience what was best. And it was best to keep those tiny fragile fingers away from the seething stove. Try this idea on for size: you don’t have to experience bad break-ups and nauseating regrets. I know media fails to show the excruciating pain behind those betrayals and break-ups, but I think we all know the pain is there. We’ve all experienced a taste of it in some form or another. Einstein said, “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again expecting different results.” We need to change our formula. Let’s go back to THE Book and read some godly directions on how to experience healthy, pure relationships. It’ll be worth it. I promise!

About Mackenzie

Traveling is ingrained in my DNA. I was born in Texas. Raised all over the U.S. I love mission work, the medical field, ingesting copious amounts of knowledge, and honorable relationships. I'm quite passionate about health, purity, sports, and the Bible. So, there's that! View all posts by Mackenzie

3 responses to “The Beginning

  • Kevin

    I recently stumbled across similar truth that your message reminds me of. It was the idea of what freedom imply. For a large majority of us we think it takes place when we venture out on our own. We begin to make Choices. These choice imply freedom.. And alot of these choices take us away from the path that is intended for us. The problem is the freedom we so desperately try to take advantage of outside of the path really is a invisible shackle of slavery that we can’t remove. Weather it be debt, relationships, etc. In reference to your message. Those that wait and endure get the true peace of freedom that alot of us wish we would not have gave up. Most couples that have strong relationships would also say they wish they could have practiced with just each other, and not have tainted experiences that take away from the purity of their relationship. Thank you for sharing your message and thoughts.

    • sweetsirensofmudhock

      I am honored by your words and your wisdom. Thank you for the confirmation as well. We have 20/20 vision in hindsight. And yet, “Brokenness is the bow from which God shoots arrows of healing” (Louie Giglio). Even mistakes can be used for God’s glory. My hope is to give a healthy alternative for the upcoming generations that follow us. It really is an honor to receive your comment. Thanks so much.

  • leeleegirl4

    I have found singleness can be fun, as long as you seek God fully where you are now.

Leave a Reply

